Home   News   Article

Three strath buildings in running for architecture awards

By SPP Reporter

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Three local projects in contention for awards
Three local projects in contention for awards

Three projects in Badenoch and Strathspey are on the shortlist for the Highlands and Islands design awards.

Rinour Steading and Ryvoan at Boat of Garten are both shortlisted in the New Life for Old Buildings category for the East region which includes Moray, Badenoch and Strathspey.

Rinour Steading was designed by Dualchas who were winners of the Best New Building awards in 2010 and LDN architects who designed Ryvoan won the Best New Building in the Highlands and Islands in the same year.

They are two of five entries in the category in the awards which are organised by the local chapter of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland – the IAA.

The number of entries in this category is probably a reflection of the times, according to IAA President Andrew Bruce. He commented: "We have been pleasantly surprised that the number of overall entries has held up very well this year, but what we have seen is a change in the types of projects being entered.

"There are far more entries for the extension or refurbishment of existing buildings and fewer of the large public buildings we have seen in the past."

Amenity housing at Nethy Bridge designed by Bracewell Stirling Architects is the only nominee on the shortlist in the Placemaking category.

The regional winners will be announced at an event this evening (Tuesday).

Held every two years since 2008, the awards aim to raise awareness of the importance of good design and architecture.

They are organised by Inverness Architectural Association – the chapter of the Royal Incorporation of Architects that covers the Highlands and Islands – and feature a range of categories, including prizes for best new building, best restoration and best use of timber.

There are six regions covering a vast area from Shetland to Lochaber, from the Western Isles to Moray. Shortlisted entries for the regional awards are showcased at local exhibitions throughout the summer.

Regional winners then go forward to the main Highlands and Islands awards to be held on November 9.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More