Home   News   Article

Drew Hendry is returned as MP for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey and says SNP result is “thumping endorsement” for a second independence referendum

By Gregor White

Drew Hendry has won the seat for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey for the SNP for a third time.
Drew Hendry has won the seat for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey for the SNP for a third time.

The SNP's Drew Hendry has been re-elected as MP Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey seat with 26,247 votes – a majority of 10,440.

A third win in a row for him the turnout in the constituency was high, with 54,922 votes cast – more than 70 per cent of the electorate.

Mr Hendry’s majority also rose by eight per cent from the last time he faced the voters in a general election, in 2017.

In his acceptance speech he said: “I would like to thank my opponents for a respectful and well contested campaign.

“This is a clear rejection of Boris Johnson and a Tory government, it is a clear rejection of Brexit, it is a clear sign that we value the National Health Service and that there is a need to end austerity and bring six years of misery caused by Universal Credit to an end.

“Most importantly this is a thumping endorsement, as we have seen right across Scotland, for the right of the Scottish people to choose their own future.

“The SNP in this election have won a new and renewed and strengthened mandate for an independence referendum and nothing could make the political climate more clear than the results across the UK. It is time for that voice to be heard.”

Speaking afterwards he said: “It has been a record win – three times in a row – I am very, very grateful to the people of Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey.

“It has been really heartening to go around during this campaign and speak to everybody – both those who supported me and those who didn’t – and to have such a great dialogue with them.

“I feel fantastic to have more than doubled the majority and to have had this result is extraordinary.

"I am honoured to now be representing the constituency again.”

In second place was the Conservative candidate Fiona Fawcett who received 15,807, followed by the Liberal Democrats’ Denis Rixson with 5846.

Labour's Lewis Whyte polled 4123 votes, with the Greens’ Ariane Burgess on 1709 and Les Durance of the Brexit Party on 1078.

The result was declared later than expected, just before 5am.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More