Home   Sport   Article

Four youth shinty players from Badenoch and Strathspey called-up for international honours

By Gavin Musgrove

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Youngsters from across the country at the trial date for Scotland's U17 squad.
Youngsters from across the country at the trial date for Scotland's U17 squad.

Four young players from the strath has been selected to represent Scotland U17s in the forthcoming fixture with Ireland.

Getting international call-ups are George Taylor Ramsay (Kingussie), Iain Fraser (Kingussie), Brodie MacBean (Newtonmore) and Jack Nelson (Strathspey).

The Tour of Ireland – which has been taking place for over 20 years – is in July.

It will see the country’s elite junior shinty players play shinty/hurling challenge matches against their Irish counterparts from Kildare and Dublin.

The squad travels across to Dublin on Sunday 24th July, and returns on Wednesday 27th July.

This year’s tour will once again be sponsored by Sitekit, a technology company headquartered on the Isle of Skye and now with offices in London and Edinburgh servicing the digital health and cyber security markets.

Camanachd Association youth director Willie MacDonald said: “This is an exciting and dynamic squad of players and for many this will be the first step on the journey to senior Scotland caps in the future.”

Sitekit founder Campbell Grant is a former shinty player with Glasgow University, Aberdeen Camanachd and Skye Camanachd in the 1980s.

He said: “As a business with roots in the Highlands and Islands, Sitekit is proud to support the U17 national team once again and wish the squad well on its tour.”

This year’s full Scotland squad is: Aiden Love (Kilmallie); Calum Nicolson (Skye); Cameron Stephen (Fort William); Coll MacKay (Inveraray); Craig MacDonald (Fort William); Euan MacCormick (Beauly); George Taylor Ramsay (Kingussie); Iain Fraser (Kingussie); Jack Nelson (Strathspey); Louie MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd); Sean MacLellan (Fort William); Taylor Matheson (Skye); Archie MacRae (Kinlochshiel); Brodie MacBean (Newtonmore); Finlay Fraser (Glengarry); Finlay Maclennan (Beauly); Marcus Planck (Bute) & Thomas MacKinnon (Beauly).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More