Home   News   Article

Jags boss looking forward to an entertaining season


By Gavin Musgrove

Get the Strathspey Herald sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper



Jags boss Gordie Nicolson has said that the aim is for his side to serve up an entertaining brand of football as well as finish as high up the league table when the new-look season kicks off this weekend.

Strathspey Thistle manager Gordon Nicolson. Picture: Daniel Forsyth
Strathspey Thistle manager Gordon Nicolson. Picture: Daniel Forsyth

Strathspey Thistle start their new campaign in the Breedon Highland League Championship this Saturday away to perennial strugglers Fort William before a tough opening home game to new Highland League Cup holders Rothes.

The Jags will be one of the clubs able to allow fans in when the delayed season gets under way.

The Scottish Government's five-tiered system of Covid-19 restrictions enables home spectators to enter grounds in restricted numbers in Level One which is the current tier for Grantown.

But Deveronvale, Huntly, Turriff, Inverurie, Formartine and Fraserburgh lie in tier 2 territory and at present would not be allowed to bring fans in.

Nicolson told the Strathy: "I am delighted that we are about to embark on another Highland League campaign.

"It has been a long eight months without football.

"Importantly I am pleased the club are able to welcome back supporters to the ground and hopefully the people in the strath are keen to get back to the matches.

"It has been a tough time for all clubs and more than ever before communities need to get behind their local clubs and what I can promise anyone thinking about purchasing a season ticket we will endeavour to make our games as entertaining as possible.

"I look forward to seeing the fans back."

All the clubs in the league will only play each other once this season due to the delay in kick-off caused by Covid-19 and Forres Mechanics have chosen to drop out due to the pandemic.

Season tickets for Strathspey Thistle's new campaign can be bought by contacting the club on their Facebook page here

They can be purchased for £50 with a concession for £25.

Look out for a preview of the big kick-off with team profiles in the latest Strathy out on Thursday.

The Jags' Breedon Highland League Championship fixtures are as follows:

November: Sat 28th November: Fort William FC v Strathspey Thistle FC.

December: Sat 5th December: Strathspey Thistle FC v Rothes FC. Sat 12th December Scottish FA Cup Preliminary Round 2. Sat 19th December: Turriff United FC v Strathspey Thistle FC. Sat 26th December Scottish FA Cup Round 1.

January: Sat 2nd January: Strathspey Thistle FC v Lossiemouth FC. Sat 9th January: Deveronvale FC v Strathspey Thistle FC. Sat 16th January: Strathspey Thistle FC v Wick Academy FC. Sat 23rd January: Strathspey Thistle FC v Formartine United FC. Sat 30th January: Inverurie Loco Works FC v Strathspey Thistle FC.

February: Sat 6th February: Strathspey Thistle FC v Nairn County FC. Sat 13th February: Strathspey Thistle FC v Keith FC. Sat 20th February Utilita Highland League Cup Round 1. Wed 24th Feb: start of Period when midweek pick-up fixtures may be scheduled. Sat 27th February: Buckie Thistle FC v Strathspey Thistle FC.

March: Sat 6th March: reserved for pick-up fixtures. Sat 13th March: Utilita Highland League Cup Round 2. Sat 20th March: Strathspey Thistle FC v Brora Rangers FC. Sat 27th March: Utilita Highland League Cup semi finals and also reserved for pick-up fixtures.

April: Sat 3rd April: Clachnacuddin FC v Strathspey Thistle FC. Sat 10th April Utilita Highland League Cup Final and also reserved for pick-up fixtures. Sat 17th April: Huntly FC v Strathspey Thistle FC. Sat 24th April: Strathspey Thistle FC v Fraserburgh FC.

May: Sat 1st May SHFL/SLFL play-off first leg. Sat 8th May SHFL/SLFL play off second leg.


Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.


Get a digital copy of the Strathspey Herald delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!

SUBSCRIBE NOW


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More