Home   News   Article

Candidates for the Scottish Parliament 2021 election confirmed for Highlands' three seats

By Gavin Musgrove

Get the Strathspey Herald sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

A total of 16 candidates are seeking election on May 6 in the three Scottish Parliamentary local constituencies in the Highlands.

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch constituency will be contested by four candidates while the Inverness and Nairn constituency – which includes Strathspey – will be a battle between six candidates.

Caithness, Sutherland and Ross constituency has attracted six candidates too.

The candidates for each constituency are as follows:

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

ERSKINE, John - Scottish Labour Party and Scottish Co-operative Party

FORBES, Kate - Scottish National Party (SNP)

HALCRO JOHNSTON, Jamie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

RIXSON, Denis - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Inverness and Nairn

BURGESS, Ariane - Scottish Greens

EWING, Fergus - Scottish National Party (SNP)

GRANT, Rhoda - Scottish Labour Party and Scottish Co-operative Party

GREGG, David - Scottish Liberal Democrats

MACDONALD, Andrew - Restore Scotland

MOUNTAIN, Edward - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Caithness, Sutherland and Ross

CHRISTIAN, Harry - Scottish Libertarian Party

DONALDSON, Marion - Scottish Labour Party

MACKIE, Struan - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MCCAFFERY, Tina - Freedom Alliance-Integrity, Society, Economy

NOLAN, Molly - Scottish Liberal Democrats

TODD, Maree - Scottish National Party (SNP)

A total of 15 parties and two independent candidates are seeking election for the Highlands and Islands regional consituency to become list MSPs. The region covers Caithness, Sutherland and Ross; Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch; Inverness and Nairn; Shetland; Orkney; Moray; Argyll and Bute and Na h-Eileanan an Iar.

They are Abolish the Scottish Parliament Party; Alba Party; All for Unity; Freedom Alliance - Integrity, Society, Economy; Reform UK; Restore Scotland; Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party; Scottish Family Party; Scottish Green Party; Scottish Labour Party; Scottish Liberal Democrats; Scottish Libertarian Party; Scottish National Party; Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition; UK Independence Party and independent candidate Hazel Mansfield and Andy Wightman.

There is still time for anyone wishing to vote by post to apply for a postal vote before the deadline of 5pm next Tuesday (April 6). For further information on how to do this and further details about the forthcoming Scottish Parliamentary click here

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Get a digital copy of the Strathspey Herald delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More