Home   News   Article

Election 2021: The Scottish Conservatives hail 'best ever' performance in the Highlands after winning four seats on the regional list while the SNP, Labour and Greens all get one each

By Scott Maclennan

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Scottish Parliamentary Elections 2021 count centre in Inverness.
Scottish Parliamentary Elections 2021 count centre in Inverness.

The Conservatives score a major win in the Highlands with four MSPs elected to the Scottish Parliament from the regional list, including party leader Douglas Ross.

That is one more than 2016 for the Tories, with Mr Ross describing it as the best ever for the party in the Highlands and Islands.

The three other Conservative MSPs are Edward Mountain, Jamie Halcro Johnston and Donald Cameron.

The SNP added one MSP in Emma Roddick, a Highland Councillor for Inverness, who is now the youngest MSP in Scotland at 23 years old.

While Labour returned Rhoda Grant to Holyrood and the Greens Ariane Burgess will also take up seat.

More to follow...

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More